True to the Old Flag

Our rating: *½

At the start of the American Revolutionary War, young Harold joins the British side with his father. He becomes a talented scout, helps win several battles, has narrow escapes from the enemy, and manages to be around for almost every part of the war.

Here’s a book that is remarkably interesting for the fact that it is about the British side of the American Revolution. The battles are done well, at points Henty even has me (an American) rooting for the British. And yet, for some reason, the story keeps getting sidetracked into Indian fights. About seven long chapters in the book are solely about Harold and his friends fighting Indians. Even though the main story is good, it is rather annoying to have the war grind to a halt so that Harold can rescue his cousin from Indians. However, hearing the British side of the story makes the book worth reading anyway.

The Forest Runners

Our rating: ****

Henry Ware and his friend Paul Cotter from Wareville are delivering some gunpowder to a settlement called Marlowe. On the way, Paul is captured by Shawnee Indians and then rescued by Henry. Henry and Paul are followed by the Shawnee Indians to an abandoned house. They escape from the Indians and meet up with some of their friends.

This book is one of the better ones of Joseph Altsheler’s books. The Forest Runners moves quickly for most of the book.

Love Comes Softly

Our rating: ****

Starting a journey West with the man she loves, Marty’s dream is shattered, just like that. Her husband is killed and she is left with practically nothing. Expecting a child and nowhere to turn, her only choice is to accept a proposal from Clark Davis, a man she does not know. Their marriage is for convenience only — his wife died, leaving him with a young girl who needs a mother, and Marty needs shelter and protection for the coming months. This first book in the series follows Marty through her initial hatred of her circumstances to her acceptance of her surroundings and Clark… Maybe even love.

I’d heard of Janette Oke’s books on several occasions and finally decided to give one a try. I read Love Comes Softly in a single afternoon and enjoyed it quite a bit. The story moves along swiftly, without feeling rushed. The scenes are simply written, but have deep meaning. There are eight books total in this series, continuing the story of Marty and the following generations. I have linked to a complete boxed set.

The Riflemen of the Ohio

Our rating: *****

This book begins when a fleet of boats comes from New Orleans carrying supplies to settlers in Pittsburgh. Unfortunately, the Indians are rallying together to drive all settlers from their land. The Indians attack the fleet while it is in the narrow areas on the Ohio River. The fleet has to force their way through to help a settlement in time, after being told by Henry Ware that it was in danger.

I liked this book for two reasons. Because I like books with adventure in them, and this book is the sequel to Kentucky Frontiersmen.

These Happy Golden Years

Our rating: ****

Author: Laura Ingalls Wilder

Laura must teach school to help Mary in the school for the blind. The school where she teaches, however, is far from home, and it’s winter, so she must stay with the surly Brewsters. Some of the students are older than she is, and Mrs. Brewster makes life miserable. However, Almanzo Wilder drives out every weekend to bring her home, and then drives her back. Laura wonders why he does this. And what will he do when the school term is over?

Well, you can probably tell very easily. It’s not hard to guess that Almanzo and Laura are standing there on the cover. You probably know where the story goes from there. Yes, I’m saying it’s predictable, but it’s good. Read it, and enjoy.